The Asean Ports Association is recognized by the Government of Malaysia as a body that coordinates activities and works for the interest of members ports in the Asean region with direct affiliation with the ASEAN organization of which Malaysia is a member.

Malaysian Ports comprising 17 members from both the public and private sectors make up APA Malaysia. We have played an integral and active role in APA from its beginning in 1975 as one of the founding members. The members are as follows:

1. Bintulu port Bhd
2. Johor Port Bhd
3. Kelang Multi Terminal Sdn Bhd
4. Kuantan Port Konsortium Sdn Bhd
5. Sabah Ports Authority
6. Bintulu Port Authority
7. Johor Port Authority
8. Klang Port Authority
9. Kuantan Port Authority
10. Kuching Port Authority
11. Miri Port Authority
12. Rajang Port Authority
13. Northport (Malaysia) Bhd
14. Pelabuhan Tanjung Pelepas Sdn Bhd
15. Penang Port Sdn Bhd
16. Sabah Port Sdn Bhd
17. Penang Port Commission

APA (Malaysia) is under the umbrella of the Ministry of Transport, Malaysia and is recognized by the Government of Malaysia to represent Malaysia as a regular member of APA and to abide by the Charter of APA.