The Association is presently composed of regular members collectively recognized as members by the Association. Regular members are those national port authorities and or the country ports with the government retaining majority interest. These members determine programs of work and priorities, annual budgets and other affairs of the Association; elect the Chairman and the Vice-Chairman; and, attend special meetings to discuss matters on proposals, recommendations or reports of the Working Committee or Technical Committees.

A Chairman, a Vice-Chairman, and a Secretary-General are the executive officers of the Association. The Chairman and the Vice-Chairman are elected from among the Members for a term of two years. The Secretary-General, appointed by the Chairman, is responsible for the coordination and administration of the activities of the Association. The executive officers are employees of a Member at all times.